APC NWC Affirms Ajimobi As Acting National Chairman

All Progressive Congress National Working Committee has affirmed Abiola Ajimobi as it acting national chairman following the removal of Adams Oshiomhole by a court.

READ ALSO:  201 Edo Health Workers Test Positive For Coronavirus

APC NWC Affirms Ajimobi As Acting National Chairman

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressive Congress (APC) rose from a meeting early Wednesday to affirm Abiola Ajimobi as the authentic acting national chairman of the party.

The NWC also disclosed that Victor Giadom, who earlier announced himself earlier as the acting national chairman, was no longer a member of the party as he had resigned from the party to vie for deputy governorship position in Rivers State.

National Vice Chairman of the party, south south, Hilliad Eta, along with members of the NWC, stated this during a press conference on Wednesday.

He said the earlier announcement by Giadom, cancelling the disqualification of the Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, was “strange”.

According to him, Giadom lacked the grounds on which to take such a decision because he ceased to be a member of the NWC since he resigned his position to contest an election as Deputy Governor of Rivers State.

Eta said, “As the person in charge of the South South, we have no record that Giadom returned after the election.”

He noted that preparations for the Edo Governorship primary was on course.

The NWC took the decision following the Appeal Court’s ruling affirming the suspension of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as National Chairman and in line with Section 14.2 (iii) of the Party’s Constitution.

The NWC also unanimously appointed the Party’s National Vice Chairman (South South), Prince Hilliard Etta to act on Sen. Ajimobi’s behalf, who, it said is absent at the moment.

It didn’t however, give a reason for Ajimobi’s absence.

It further said the NWC action is backed by the Party’s constitution which empowers it to appoint one of its members in acting capacity and stipulates that the acting National chairman must be from the zone of the National Chairman.

Also, committees for the Party’s Edo State Governorship Primary Election scheduled for Monday 22nd June, 2020 and Election Appeal scheduled for Wednesday 24th June, 2020 were also named by the NWC.

The Primary Election Committee has Governor of Imo State, Sen. Hope Uzodinma as Chairman with Sen. Ajibola Bashiru as Secretary, while Alh. Abdullahi Abass, Hon. Ibrahim Sabo, Hon. Ocho Obioma, Hajia Amina Lantana Muhammed and Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye as members.

The Primary Election Appeal has Prof. Mustapha Bello as Chairman and Dr. Kayode Ajulo as Secretary with Hon. Umar Ahmed, Nasiru Ibrahim Junju and Hon. Rasaq Mahmud Bamu as members.

The NWC also noted that “the recent ruling of a High Court which declared Hon. Igo Aguma as the Party’s acting chairman in Rivers State. In compliance with the court ruling, our party has recognised Aguma as Rivers State acting Chairman pending when new congresses will be held to elect party executive members at the ward, local government and state levels.”

It also noted that sixteen members of the NWC attended the meeting held at the Party’s National Secretariat (13 members attended physically and three others joined the meeting online).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *