[Full List] Senate President Lawan Announces Principal Officers

Abdullahi Yahaya, the Senator representing Kebbi South Senatorial district, has emerged as the 9th Senate Leader, thereby putting to rest insinuations that Senator Abdullahi Adamu representing Nasarawa North might clinch the position.

The Senate President, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan in a letter address which was read during plenary after a two-week recess on Tuesday, APC national chairman, Adams Oshiomhole’s said the choice of selection of the rest of principal officers was as a result of extensive consultation with the leadership of the ruling All Progressives Congress.

READ ALSO:  Ibom Air: "Where Is Nigeria Air?" Nigerians Mock Buhari On Social Media

“I wish to bring to your notice, list of principal officers of the 9th Senate which were agreed by consensus,” he said.

“After extensive consultation by the leadership of the party, I wish to bring to your notice list of the rest of principal officers.”

Below are the names;

1. Senate leader, Senator Abdullahi Yahaya

2. Deputy Senate leader, Senator Boroffice Robert Ajayi

3. Chief Whip, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu

4. Deputy Chief Whip, Senator Abdullahi Sabi

In the same vein, the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in a letter written by its national chairman, Mr. Uche Secondus picked Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe as Minority leader of the Senate.

Others are:

Deputy Senate Minority leader, Senator Emmanuel Bwacha

Senate Minority Whip, Senator Philip Aduda and Deputy Senate Minority Whip, Senator Sahabi Yau.

The Majority Leader and his Minority counterpart consequently addressed the Senate plenary, while they expressed their readiness to work for the success of the 9th Senate.

READ ALSO:  President Buhari's Ministers And Their Postgraduate Qualifications

Senate President Lawan Announces Principal Officers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *