Founders, Branches, Facts & History Of Unity Bank plc

Founders, history and facts about Unity Bank plc.

Unity Bank, also known as Unity Bank plc, is a commercial bank in Nigeria.


Unity Bank is a large financial services provider in Nigeria. Headquartered in Lagos, Nigeria’s commercial capital. Unity Bank also maintains an operations base in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital. As of December 2012, the bank’s total assets were valued at about US$2.45 billion (NGN:396 billion), with shareholders’ equity of approximately US$322 million (NGN:51.5 billion).


In January 2006, nine financial institutions with expertise in corporate banking, retail banking, as well as investment banking, came together to form Unity Bank plc.

Unity Bank Group

Unity Bank plc, is the flagship institution of the Unity Bank Group. Other members of the financial services group include the following:

Unity Capital & Trust Limited
Caranda Management Services Limited
Unity Registrars Limited
Northlink Insurance Brokers Limited
Newdevco Investments & Securities Limited
UnityKapital Assurance plc
Pelican Prints Limited
Unity Bank BDC
Hexali Properties Limited


The shares of stock of Unity Bank plc are listed on the Nigerian Stock Exchange, where they trade under the symbol: UNITYBNK. The detailed shareholding in the bank is not publicly available at this time.

Branch network

As of December 2010, Unity Bank plc maintained 242 branches across all states of Nigeria, giving it the 7th-largest branch network in the country. Another 25 branches were planned at that time.

READ ALSO:  JUST IN: CBN Delays Unity Bank And First Bank Financial Statements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *