Election: Akpabio Loses Senate Seat To Chris Ekpenyong (Official Result)

Godswill Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom has lost his bid to return to the Senate for a second term.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC on Tuesday afternoon (February 26th) finally declared Mr. Chris Ekpenyong, Akpabio’s opponent the winner of the election in Akwa Ibom North-West District.

The INEC declaration was done at the commission’s headquarters in Uyo due to security concern.

Suspense and tension was recored in the state after INEC suspended the release of the result of the election in which both the All Progressives Congress, APC and the PDP claimed victory.

READ ALSO:  President Buhari Backs Giadom As APC Acting National Chairman - Garba Shehu

According to the result announced by the returning officer, Peter Oban, a professor, Mr Akpabio, a former governor of the state, scored 83,158 votes, while Mr Ekpenyong scored 118,215 votes.

While reacting to the results, the INEC spokesperson in Akwa Ibom, Don Etukudoh, told reporters that the commission had to declare the election result in Uyo because of the “security situation” in the Akwa Ibom North-West District.

Akpabio Loses Senate Seat To Chris Ekpenyong
Godswill Akpabio And Chris Ekpenyong

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC in Akwa Ibom, Mike Igini, had said earlier on Monday, INEC would not declare the election result in Uyo because of legal implication.

Mr Igini had told journalists at the state collation centre in Uyo saying; “The results are ready, but INEC can’t declare it in Uyo. The law says the election results must be declared at the senatorial district.”

“The report we are getting about the security situation in Ikot Ekpene is that it is not okay for INEC to go there and announce results,” he added.

READ ALSO:  Court Sacks Ned Nwoko As PDP Senator-elect

According to report, Mr Akpabio has petitioned the INEC over what he described as unfair treatment by the REC against the APC in the state.

Other results from the district

READ ALSO:  Ballot Box Snatchers: We'll Comply With President Buhari's Directives - Army

PDP’s candidate, Nsikak Ekong, has also won the House of Representatives election in Mr Akpabio’s Ikot Ekpene Federal Constituency.

Mr Ekong defeated the incumbent, Emmanuel Akpan of the APC, with 29,849 votes. Mr Akpan scored 22,056 votes, according to the result announced also in Uyo by INEC.

Below is the breakdown of the senate result;

Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District
APC: 83158
PDP: 118215
Registered Voters 655,525
Accredited Voters: 218,493
Valid votes: 202,387
Rejected Votes: 7307
Engr. Dr. Christopher Ekpenyong (PDP)- Elected
Returning Officer: Prof. Peter Iko Oban.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *