Bills President Buhari Has Refused To Sign Into Law Since 2015

On Thursday, President Muhammadu Buhari has declined assent to five more bills passed and sent to him by the National Assembly to sign into law.

This is coming less than eight days after rejecting five bills passed by the upper legislative chamber.

It can be recalled that Buhari had on Wednesday, March 20, declined assent to five bills sent to him by the National Assembly to sign into law.

The total number of bills passed by the Saraki-led 8th Senate, with Thursday’s development, but refused to be signed into law by the Buhari-led administration is put at 31.

READ ALSO:  Names Of 20 States Likely To Pay Minimum Wage In Nigeria

The latest rejected bills are:
1. National Institute of Credit Administration Bill, 2018;
2. Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency Bill, 2018;
3. Ajaokuta Steel Company Completion Fund Bill, 2018;
4. National Housing Fund Bill, 2018; and
5. Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria Bill, 2018.

Bills rejected last week include:
6. Nigerian Film Corporation Bill,
7. Immigration (Amendment) Bill,
8. Climate Change Bill,
9. Chattered Institute of Pension Practitioners, and;
10. Digital Rights and Freedom Bill.

Other bills rejected by Buhari since assumption of office in 2015 include:
11. The Petroleum Industry Governance Bill (PIGB),
12. Stamp Duties (Amendment) Bill,
13. Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill,
14. Industrial Development (Income Tax Relief) (Amendment) Bill,
15. National Research and Innovation Council (Est.) Bill,
16. National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism (Est.) Bill,
17. National Agricultural Seeds Council Bill,
18. Chattered Institute of Entrepreneurship (Est.) Bill,
19. Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences (Amendment) Bill,
19. Subsidiary Legislation (Legislative Scrutiny) Bill, and;
20. Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (Amendment) Bill.

READ ALSO:  Presidential Election: Supreme Court Dismisses Atiku's Appeal

Others are:
21. National Transport Commission Bill,
22. Federal Road Authority (Establishment) Bill,
23. National Broadcasting Commission Amendment Bill,
24. National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA) Act (Amendment) Bill,
25. Federal Polytechnics Act (Amendment) Bill,
As well as five constitution amendment bills – which brings it to a total of 31 (documented) rejected bills so far.

READ ALSO:  Photos As Ahmed Lawan Is Sworn-In As Senate President With "79 Votes"

Bills President Buhari Has Refused To Sign Into Law Since 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *