2020: Countries That Will Celebrates The New Year First And Last

As 2019 come to end in Nigeria, many countries has already entered the new year. Below are countries to experience 2020 first and last, as arranged by thesun.co.uk and Brainnewsradio.com.

The whole world will be united in celebrations to welcome in 2020 in style – but which nation kicks off the New Year first?

With 2020 arriving at different times across the globe, here’s a breakdown on who rings in the New Year first and last.

Countries That Will Celebrates The New Year First And Last
File Photo

Which country celebrates New Year first?

While fireworks exploding over Sydney harbour usually symbolises the start of global New Year festivities for most Brits, it may surprise you to hear that Australia is not the first country in the world to welcome the New Year.

The Pacific island of Tonga is first to ring in the New Year and celebrated at 10am GMT on December 31 – making the tiny island nation the first to head into a fresh year.

READ ALSO:  After Tweeting About Dropping Bombs, U.S. Military Apologises

Where will 2020 arrive last?

After travelling all around the world, the New Year eventually comes full circle – or near enough.

The last place or places to ring in 2020 will be the tiny outlying islands of the US.

Baker Island and Howland Island will see the New Year at 12pm GMT on January 1 – but as it’s uninhabited, we tend to forget about it.

Second to last will be American Samoa at 11am – just 558 miles from Tonga, where locals and visitors were celebrating a full 25 hours before.

It’s therefore possible to get a quick flight in between the two and count down to 2020 twice.

What time does New Year arrive around the world?

READ ALSO:  2020: Reuters To Sack 3,200 Workers

Using London time, this is when the world will welcome 2020:

Tuesday December 31, 2019

10am – Samoa and Christmas Island/Kiribati
10:15am – New Zealand
1pm – Most of Australia
3pm – Japan, South Korea and North Korea
4pm – China, Philippines, Singapore
5pm – Thailand, Cambodia and large parts of Indonesia
6pm – Bangladesh
6.15pm – Nepal
6.30pm – India and Sri Lanka
7pm – Pakistan
8pm – Azerbaijan
8.30pm – Iran
9pm – Turkey, Iraq, Kenya and most of Russia
10pm – Greece, Romania, South Africa, Hungary and other central and eastern European cities
11pm – Germany, France, Italy, Algeria, Belgium, Spain
Midnight – UK, Ireland, Ghana, Iceland, Portugal

Wednesday, January 1, 2019

2am – Regions of Brazil
3am – Argentina, regions of Brazil, Chile, Paraguay
4am – Some regions of Canada, Bolivia, Puerto Rico
5am – Eastern Standard Time in the US – New York, Washington, Detroit and Cuba
6am – Central Standard Time in the US – Chicago
7am – Mountain Standard Time in the US – Colorado, Arizona
8am – Pacific Standard Time in the US – LA, Nevada
9am – Alaska
10am – Hawaii
11am – American Samoa
12pm – Baker Island, Howland Island

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *