2019 Elections: Why Atiku And ACPN Presidential Candidate Sign The Peace Accord

By Wisdom Peter,

Report from NTA says, Less than 24 hours after President Muhammadu Buhari signed a peace accord ahead of 2019 elections, candidates of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and Obiageli Ezekwesili respectively, who were absent at the ceremony of peace accord signing by Presidential candidates of all political parties in Abuja which held on Tuesday, came the next day and also signed the Peace accord document.

According to the report as Brainnewsradio has gathered, The candidates in separate visits on Wednesday
signed the Peace Accord at the office of the National Peace Committee (NPC) in Abuja.

Atiku And ACPN Presidential Candidate Sign The Peace Accord

Atiku, while signing the peace accord said that he is committed to free, fair and credible election, and also commended President Buhari for signing the peace deal and urged him to sign the electoral act amendment bill into law to demonstrate his willingness to ensure free and fair elections.

Ezekwesili as the report notes, while signing the agreement also called on President Buhari to sign the electoral act amendment bill saying that is the only way to assure Nigerians that he is ready for free and fair elections in 2019.

Atiku’s running mate, Peter Obi; PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus; Former governor of Ogun State, Gbenga Daniel; among others are said to have accompanied Atiku to the signing event.

President Buhari who was present at the event implored stakeholders to work towards successful and peaceful conduct of the elections, as the world is focused on Nigeria.

Report adds that, Although Atiku reported that he was not invited to the ceremony, a member of the NPC, Bishop Matthew Kukah, insisted that Atiku was invited for the signing ceremony.

The National Peace Accord is convened by eminent Nigerians and led by a former Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar.

READ ALSO:  Cross River Assembly Elect New Speaker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *